It runs well enough, I suppose.
It runs well enough.

It runs!

Connie’s guts have been ripped apart, inspected, cleaned, adjusted, and re-assembled – and now, for the first time since I bought it, it idles. A rough idle – many things should have been replaced instead of just cleaned – but still, it’s an idle. No more driving with one foot on the gas and one on the brake around town.
The drivers seat is now actually functional, and instead of feeling like you’re going to be tossed out of it at every turn due to the severe wobble, it sits solid and sturdy as a drivers seat should. I also fixed both adjusters, so now it slides back and forth and reclines. Yay. Go me.
I found a windshield wiper on the carcass of a car today which was in better shape than the ones on connie – hoping it will fit. Haven’t tried it yet. If it does, at least the driver will be able to see…
Still no working fuel gauge – which wouldn’t be much of a problem if the odometer/speedo gauge worked, but I found that has a busted cable. Gonna be one hell of a guessing game across the country.  I go buy a five gallon gas can tomorrow – though the thought of having all that gas in the van with us doesn’t sit too well with me…
Four questionable tires, but I gots a spare. I need to buy a jack. That would probably help. Don’t think Raven is strong enough to lift the van with her skinny arms. Don’t think I am either, with mine.
Connie runs strong, once past idle.
I really need to see if there’s a way I can fix the gas gauge. It’s getting power – but I think the sending unit is toast. Sometimes the tank is full, then empty, then full again.
Now, if it were actually full again, that would be pretty fucking cool – but I don’t think that is the case.

We’ll make it – somehow. Of that, I have no doubt whatsoever.

Somehow.

Right on time-ish. I’ve got a feeling that I’ll be needing to do some busking along the way. I found on my way out here that Vegas isn’t too friendly about that, but hopefully I can make a few bucks before I’m shut down.

Connie’s ashes arrived yesterday, ready to join us on the journey. In a clear plastic bag in a black plastic box. Gots to get them out of all that plastic!
Deanne said that for a while Connie was a counselor at The Bridge House – a substance abuse program here in New Orleans, and that he liked nature and was always amazed by it. A simple man that didn’t need extravagant things. He was born here, so sometime tomorrow before we leave, I’ll sprinkle some his ashes in Jackson Square…

I need to get a sugar scoop or somethin’, with all this scattering and sprinkling!

I told her I’d take pictures of the places along the way where I scatter them – and I had the idea last nightin a sleep deprived delerium to make drawings with them where I was able – something simple, like happy faces. Why the hell not?

Okay, I really should sleep. In arond 16 hours New Orleans will be dissapearing in the rearview mirror, and I have a hell of a lot to do before then.

Thank you, New Orleans. You have shown me so much beauty, taken me into your arms, caresssed me in your delicious sexiness, and, every single day, amazed me in your strength. I will be back. In a strange, and perhaps unhealthy way, I’ve fallen in love with you.

Farewell.

Mundane edit – still don’t know how the hell I’m going to make it. With the money for the trip that I’ve already spent on the van, and the money I still need to, (not to mention food & water, but I can do pretty well without food. Practice, y’know?) it will be a voyage that will be difficult not to fret about completing. I know I will, somehow, because this is what is meant to happen – but if anyone wants to donate a buck or five to the “Get Connie & kSea to California” fund, I will be forever grateful and appreciative for your help in alleviating my worry, and promise to kill every mosquito I am able to along the way.  If you want, I’ll send you the little mosquito carcasses so you can pin them to your body as a warning to other mosquitos. Remember kids – the further I get, the more mosquitos end up dead on the front of my van! Trust me – I’ll swerve to hit them.

I think I have mosquito issues.

paypal acct at ksea13 (at) gmail (dot) com

3 responses to “

Leave a Reply

