messages

Earlier this evening, sitting at Noc Noc for a beer, Lauren got up to go to the bathroom, and i pulled out my phone.

On a whim, I began to go down the list of names in my phone book, wanting to remind myself of people I perhaps hadn’t thought of in a while, or hadn’t seen.

I didn’t make it too far.
I stared at this name for a bit, remembering her, a certain sadness in my heart.

I did the only thing I could do at that moment. I sent her a text message.
No reason to call.

I miss you.
I love you.

That’s all I said, all that needed to be said.
I’ve already said everything else to her that I could – I just needed to remind her of those small, simple things.

I miss you, Allison.

We all do.

4 responses to “messages

Leave a Reply

