one and a half legs (12.5.13)

(Backstory – I did something really bad to my leg over the Thanksgiving holiday, running around Dolores Park with Ellie & Ruby, playing on swings, climbing on everything, running up and down hills – something went wrong and I woke that Saturday with my foot & leg swollen like an overstuffed sausage from toes to knee. The bed on the house I was watching was on the floor, and I actually had to crawl from the bedroom to the living room, grab the corner of the couch and a stool, and lift myself vertical with my arms alone – like a toddler learning to walk.
This was written at my own home, a few days after.)

12.5.13

…swings around in bed, puts the feet on the floor, and carefully stands – testing each time for some ease in the shooting pain. Things look promising, and they are *far* much better than the first few days – at least I was able to bring the swelling almost all the way down.
I’m optimistic.
I bend my knees a little, seeing how far my left ankle can flex today. Not much, as usual, but it seems like the pain has subsided a bit. Maybe. I take a test step. Not bad. I take a few more with a bit too much confidence and OWOWOWOWW FUCKING OOOWWW!
Okay, maybe a bit too optimistic.
Looks like I’m cabbing it the 7 or so blocks to TJ’s, because I’m sure as not making it up that hill during daylight hours, even if I started now, and need to get some herbs and stuff. got a worried call from my Dr. yesterday about my bloodwork (which has nothing to do with my ankle, mostly) so did some looksing around on Los Interwebs and found out what was good.
He worries to much about me anyway. Think he would have learned by now.

To all of the amazing people who helped out in the fund for Ruby & I to get a car, THANK YOU!
To the Universe – I wanted my OWN car, not to rent someone else’s car by the minute, but still, thank you!

Leave a Reply

