A little Everything

Another birthday quietly comes & goes with the slight disbelief & perhaps even small discontent that I made it another year.

I wake up late this morning, make my coffee, do the morning stretches to try to regain a scrap of the flexibility that, along with my strength, was eaten away during the 18 months that I spent in a hospital bed, and after I adjust the pillows climb back into bed, set the laptop on my lap & start to scratch words. I’ve found the bed is best – at least for the swelling in my legs. Keeps it down.

A conversation yesterday with a wonderful old friend & former lover about everything under our suns, and ending with tentative plans for a cross country trip in Spring – renting an RV and taking a few weeks to cross the country to her home in upstate New York. Likely plans. Almost definite plans.
I need to do something. Something that *means* something. The Kickstarter for my book crushed me as it fell to nothing but rubble of hopes, dreams & the plans I had which would have changed everything in my life, given me a purpose, a value.

I wonder why my life, my happiness depends so incredibly much on doing something, creating something, helping someone – I know that there are many who are content to live their lives in a mundane existence, and that’s all they seem to need. They seem to be happy – but that’s not me.  That’s not me.

I need to taste everything, experience the deepest pain and joy as I can, and truly feel PASSION, feel alive in this world, feel like I’m more than just another inconsequential pawn.
I need to breathe the fervent, blood red breath of life deep inside me, feel it fill my lungs, my heart, my soul, and match it with my own.
I need to swim to the deepest dark depths of the sea and feel at home there with creatures that understand that all I want to do is learn. Where are my fucking gills?

Where have I gone? Where is the music that I once danced to, the fevered rhythm of life? Have I fallen prey to my own sickness? Have I given up?

I can’t. I want to. I can’t. I’m tired. I can’t. I can’t.

Sometimes I think some of us live only to beat the odds. To be able to say “This is what I know.” And, just maybe, help someone else. Help them open their eyes, to see a little bit more beauty, to believe a little bit more in their dreams. To see how perfect we can at least make the world around us – or at the very least make it better.

I am not more courageous, not any more special than anyone else. I live in the same world.

I’ve just seen more of it than most – and because of that, in spite of that – I’m willing to keep fighting to make it a little bit better.

Leave a Reply

